Pretty Polly By M. C. Beaton


When a recently widowed school friend invites Verity to stay with her in town, she has an ulterior motive—to write love letters on her behalf to the handsome Duke of Denbigh. The Duke is soon charmed by the lyrical letters, and soon suspects there’s more to the writer than the vain, shallow young widow.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She is a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and has worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor. The author has written under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also has written under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward. The author lived in the United States, but now splits her time between the Cotswolds, England and Paris, France.

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton